.’. Echoes Across the Century .’.

There is this exhibition at Guildhall Art Gallery that explores personal stories of those involved in the First World War. 

I saw the exhibition a few times this week as I work there. I saw many exhibitions in my many years of working at Museums and Galleries but this one piece in this exhibition made my heart sink, made me think, made me cry alone at the Gallery, made me want to know this people, made me want to go home and hold the ones I love forever.

Collection of Tears by Jessie Ellman created in 1917 after the death of Lt. W.G. Hicks.

Bellow some of the sayings…

  • When we stood beneath the stars.
  • The kiss by the church.
  • Thinking of the day you asked me to marry.
  • I shall miss you so much.
  • Your last message of love 
  • The day I first saw you in uniform and realised it was real.
  • The day you left for France.
  • Everyday when I was afraid for you and had no news.
  • Dreams of our wedding day and our love.
  • The dead of all my hoped and dreams.
  • When they said they had news of you, and you had died. 3rd July 1917.

Leave a comment